What is Vinyasa Flow Yoga?

Theresa Moodie

Vinyasa Flow is a style of Yoga based on the principles of Ashtanga Vinyasa and Iyengar Yoga. It is a more westernised/modernised version of traditional styles of Yoga. The order of the poses is open to change and interoperation by the teacher. Vinyasa literally translated means ‘to place in a special way’. During a Vinyasa Flow Yoga practice it is the focus of linking movement with breath.

A Vinyasa Flow Yoga class consists of the following 5 main components:

  1. Asana: physical postures
  2. Vinyasa: refers to a specific sequence of poses that is performed between each asana
  3. Pranayama: Pranayama translated means breath control,  the link between the mind and the body.
  4. Bandhas: Bandhas refer to different ‘locks’ that help to guide energy through the body. These locks assist with balance, stability and maintaining energy levels.
  5. Drishti: A gazing spot. Each asana has its own official drishti, this soft gaze creates mental focus during practice.
Theresa Moodie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s